The History of Golf in Poland 

Some experts say with a smile, that with stones as balls and shepherd's sticks as clubs, the sport of golf was born. In medieval Europe, there used to be a few such games, in which sticks were used to hit a ball or rock. Variations of such games have also been documented in other parts of the world.However, Scotland is commonly considered as the birthplace of modern golf. It is generally agreed that golf originates from Scotland in and around the 14th century.In comparison with other countries, the history of golf in Poland is not long. The beginnings of playing golf in Poland are documented in the beginning of the 20th century. The oldest golf club and course was created in Bad Sazbrunn (currently known as Szczawno Zdrój) in 1906.  It was recognized by the whole elite of Europe as one of the most beautiful and challenging golf courses at that time. Until 1939, only a few golf courses functioned in Powsina, Gdańsk, Łańcut, Katowice, Szczawno.In 1932, the first Polish language “Golf playing book” by Adam Gubatta was published. In 1938 in Powsina, on the lands bought from Braniccy, “The Polish Country Club” was opened. At that time, earl Karol Radziwiłł was an outstanding world-class Polish golfer.

Shortly after World War II, golf was forbidden by the Polish authorities because it was considered a decadent upper-class sport. The recent and current renaissance of the interest of golf in Poland and other former “eastern bloc” countries began in the 1980's.
 Undoubtedly, a very crucial point in the history of Polish golf was the year 1993, when First Warsaw Golf & Country Club in Rajszewo, started its activity. At the same time, two organizations promoting golf in Poland were established. The first – The Polish Golf Association (Polski Związek Golfowy) – associates amateurs, meaning those players who do not collect salaries for participation in tournaments; the second - PGA Polska – integrates professional players into both the Polish and international professional system. Since that year 1993, there are more and more golf clubs and golf courses on the map of Poland, and the number of Polish golf lovers is growing. Many Europeans are taking golf vacations in Poland, a testament to the beauty and popularity of the new Polish golf courses.


The Poland Golf Clubs Map below shows the location of the Golf Courses in Poland




# name w.w.w. year holes
1 Amber Baltic Golf Club www.abgc.pl 1992 18
2 Golf & Relax Łukęcinie www.golfandrelax.com.pl 1993 9
3 Sierra Golf Club www.sierragolf.pl 2002 18
4 Gdańsk Golf & Country Club www.golf.com.pl 1997 18
5 Mazury Golf & Country Club www.mazurygolf.pl 2002 18
6 TatFort Golf Club www.tatfort.pl 2003 9
7 Binowo Park Golf Club www.binowopark.pl 2000 18
8 Bachalski Sport Park www.sportpark.pl 2000 9
9 Golf Club Bytkowo www.golfclub-bytkowo.pl 2004 18
10 Golf Klub Wityng www.golf.wityng.pl 2002 9
11 First Warsaw Golf & Country Club   www.warsawgolf.pl 1992 18
12 Golf Palace www.golfpalace.pl 2001 9
13 First Wroclaw Golf Club www.tomgolf.wroc.pl 1999 9
14 Rycerski Klub Golfowy Krobielowice www.golfclub.com.pl 2002 9
15 Śląski Klub Golfowy www.slaskiklubgolfowy.pl 1997 9
16 First Golf Club Pszczyna www.golfpszczyna.pl 2000 9
17 Kraków Valley Golf & Country Club www.krakow-valley.com 2002 18
18 Royal Kraków Golf & Country Club   www.krakowgolf.pl 2001 9
19 Pierwszy Lubelski Klub Golfowy www.golf.lublin.pl 2001 9
20 Talki Golf SA www.talkigolf.pl 2003 9
 
Polish Media Watch

Polish Media Watch

Polish Day




Polish Happy Hour



 

Newletter Signup



Support Us
Follow Us Here









Links